Advancing socioeconomic diversity in Canadian universities

Events

Poverty Through Poetry with Carmen Rodriguez de France. April 27th. Noon-1:30 PDT

Neon Glowing Stage Podcast Interview Song Sing Night Concert Chair Podium Purple Blue MIcrophone Garage Brick Wall Reflective Music Studio Event Background Show 3D Rendering Illustration

Tues, April 27th, 2021

Time: 12:00-1:30 PDT

1:00pm MT | 3:00pm ET | 2:00pm CT | 8:00pm UK

Free webinar registration: https://tinyurl.com/38793dvs

2020-2021 String it Together series brings our voices, lived experiences and wonders together through art in our final webinar of the season. This is an invitation to reflect on the portrayal of poverty through poetry. We will read and listen to poems that present poverty as personal deficit. Together, we will reframe these perspectives to understand poverty as oppression, and as a violation of a human right (Pogge, 2009; UNESCO).


Special Guest: Carmen Rodriguez de France (PhD) is a singer, songwriter and poet of Kickapoo and Mexican heritage. Carmen is an Indigenous educator at the University of Victoria (Faculty of Education, Social Justice Studies, Latin American Studies) artist and poet. She is a prolific activist for social justice who is committed the enactment of the Calls to Action from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Report.

Free webinar registration: https://tinyurl.com/38793dvs

@ShoestringCdn

info@shoestringinitiative.com

Facebook: Shoestring Initiative

The Shoestring Initiative, founded by Elaine J Laberge a PhD Candidate from a poverty-class heritage, is a grassroots solidarity movement creating communities of mentorship, belonging, support, intercultural connectedness, and advocacy for Canadian university students from a poverty-class heritage. This webinar is part of the String it Together: Finding Togetherness on the Education Digi-scape series. Webinar recordings of past webinars are posted on the site. For more information, contact Elaine @ elaberge@uvic.ca.

Leave a Reply